29
Sep
11

Drain out, still feeling better

Dr. Sonfield removed the new drain Monday. It had been draining only about 15 cc. of mostly clear fluid every day and he said I didn’t need it any more. But, he also commented that it may not have been working as well as possible because it didn’t seem to be inserted far enough. In any case, I don’t sense any further fluid accumulation and feel pretty good these days.

LE therapy continues on my arm for another week or so, until I can switch from the heavy padded wrapping to simple compression sleeve and glove for day-time wear. They are on order awaiting grant information from CancerCare.

It seems that their funding level has dropped with the economy and they will only cover about 60% of the cost of one sleeve and glove, but I’m very grateful for that. Night-time compression sleeves are really expensive so for now I may have to re-pad and wrap the arm every night.

My radiologist (Dr. Grubb) appointment is next Wednesday for the second step in the radiation therapy process (MRI, marking, etc.) Need continued prayer for all of that, especially that no complications will crop up!


1 Response to “Drain out, still feeling better”


  1. 1 Diane Brown
    September 30, 2011 at 6:52 pm

    I am so thankful for the good report! Sending you gentle hugs and continued prayer.
    Diane


Leave a comment


Blog Stats

  • 3,711 hits

Bette’s Journal

Bette Cox 2010

Christ is the "Big C" in my life!

That was told to me by a good friend recently, and it's so very true.

Jesus says in John 10:10, "The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full."

I believe Jesus. I hope you do too.

I have one request of other believers reading this journal:

Agree with me that the invader will shrink, shrivel, die and disappear from my body, whatever method the Lord uses to accomplish that.

Thanks in advance.